Diamond Music Awards

As part of our 60th Anniversary celebrations Tonbridge Music Club launched the TMC Diamond Music Awards, supporting local young musicians aged 5-18 years to achieve their musical potential.

Promoting young musical talent is central to our charity’s mission. As so many opportunities for young people were severely restricted during the Covid pandemic and the year that followed, these awards felt even more important.

The awards consisted of eight financial grants:

    • one grant of £600
    • one grant of £300
    • one grant of £200
    • five grants of £100

We were delighted to welcome all eight Award Winners and their families to the first concert of the season with Alison Balsom and Anna Lapwood.  At a celebratory reception after the concert Alison presented each Award Winner with their certificate.

The £600 award went to 17-year old Joe Steyn, a talented young drummer who aspires to make his career in music. Joe, a student at Tunbridge Wells Grammar School for Boys, achieved distinction in his Grade 8 and is already the drummer for three different bands.  He plans to use his prize money to buy some badly-needed new cymbals and to pay for extra lessons.  

Weald of Kent Grammar School student Ellen Roff was awarded £300 to put towards longer flute lessons. Ellen, 16, gained Grade 8 distinction two years ago and attends the prestigious Royal College of Music Junior Department. Having started the flute when she was 9, Ellen recently got through to the second round of auditions with the National Youth Orchestra.

Eddie Moskal of St Mark’s Primary School in Tunbridge Wells was the proud recipient of the £200 award. Despite being only 9 years old, Eddie is already showing huge talent as a drummer.  He achieved distinction at Grade 5 and is expected by his teacher to reach Grade 8 by his tenth birthday.  He will be using his prize money to help pay for lessons and some acoustic drums.

A further five young musicians received awards of £100 to put towards musical costs – Amelia Lovell (9), Daphne Laird (15), Elo Esalomi (16), Jem Mossman (12) and Mimi Luscombe (17)

All applicants for the awards received complimentary tickets to a concert of their choice during the season.